Being Sick Sucks.

This week was a blur.  In the role required by my secret real identity, I work at a university and this was the first week of the spring term.  I saw more people this week than I like to see in a month.  It was crazy.  Their faces all ran together, and in my head they just exist as a singular talking head giving me reasons why they hadn’t registered for classes yet.

As an added bonus, I contracted some sort of plague that wasn’t severe enough to merit sick days (nor contagious with coughing or sneezing) but did call for OTC medication that put me in enough of a fog to make it feel like I was in an episode of Scooby Doo.  Thursday night I got home and crashed early enough to get rest for Friday, and Friday night I took some burly antihistimines that launched me into some funky dreams involving my childhood home and Jerry Lewis (?).  I slept most of yesterday.

Mr Incredible spent yesterday doing laundry.  Wash, dry, fold, put away.  He changed the sheets on Boo’s bed.  Can I get a round of applause for Mr Incredible?  Because he totally lived up to that name yesterday.

As an added bonus, it was raining, so there was no outside time at all.  Boo was largely left to her own devices. She watched more TV than we prefer under normal circumstances, but that’s how it goes sometimes.  At the end of the day, her playroom looked like a Barbie/Superhero Opium Den after a wild night of partying.

Image

I blame Wonder Woman.

Yeah I don’t know why everybody has to be naked and face down, but apparently that’s the rule.  Lucky Strawberry Shortcake has her clothes permanently on or she’d be on the walk of shame too.

I’m better today.  It’s amazing what 20 hours of sleep in 2 days can do for one’s health.

This week we’re finishing the first month of the House Blast.  When I started it on January 1, I had no idea that anyone would pay attention.  I figured a few of my friends would humor me, and it would likely fizzle out (like most New Years’ resolutions do…) within a couple of weeks.  But it became a Thing, and there are 300 cleaner bathrooms in the world because of it.  The interwebs are amazing.

Next month we’re going to do the master bedroom.  I’ve been thinking about how I’m going to approach it.  It’s not like a bathroom, which is all about functionality.  Our bedrooms are where we land at the end of the day.  It’s the most personal space in the entire house, I think.  Without delving into HBO Late Night topics, it’s where we need to recharge and reconnect with ourselves and our spouses (as applicable…).  There needs to be room in the bedroom to allow for us to prepare for the upcoming day.

And that’s how I’m going to approach it.  Stay tuned.  The end result is going to be amazing.

Leave a Reply

